3w-net.com Email Scam

One of our clients received this email today from a company called 3w-net.com about another company called Meiao Development Co:

Today we formally received an application from Meiao Development company. They are applying to register “**domain name deleted**” as their domain name and Internet keyword through us. which regarding your trade mark and company’s name. In order to keep other party from utilizing these domain names on purpose. we hope to get your confirmation about this issue asap:
Firstly, whether this alleged Meiao Development Co.,Ltd is your business partner or distributor?
Secondly, whether you are interested in protecting these domain names and internet keyword? (The alleged Meiao Development Co.,Ltd will be entitled to obtain them not needed by original brand name or trademark owner.)

This is a letter for confirmation. If the mentioned third party is your business partner or distributor please DO NOT reply, we will automatically confirm their application.
If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept. 

Unsurprsingly, it’s an email scam.  I recommended that the best course of action for this email is that it be transferred to their deleted items!

If you were to follow up the email (perhaps because you were suddenly very scared that you were about to lose the domain name that you’d spent many hours and £/$ building up) then they would probably try to sell you a number of domain names to ‘protect your brand’.

I get so sick of scammers trying to confuse people and scare them into parting with their hard earned cash.  

My advice to anyone receiving an email that smells a bit fishy is to do a google search on the sender or the companies mentioned in the email.  You’ll very quickly find out if they’re legit or not!

So if you receive an email from 3w-net.com regarding a company called Meiao Development Co then follow my (free!) advice – delete it!